Wychwood Brewery…some #beer from the UK, with a slight Halloween type theme…

What better way to prepare for Halloween than a ghoulish inspired brewery?  Well, I can’t think of anything, and I am the one writing this mess, so this is how it’s going to be.  I will get into some traditional Oktoberfest brews throughout the month, as well, but I like scary movies, so Halloween theme comes first!

The Wychwood Brewery (http://www.wychwood.co.uk) is located in the UK, and they churn out a pretty impressive array of ales.  It’s an important thing to be proficient at in the merry old land of England, brewing multiple styles in abundance, especially when taking into account the stereotypically horrible cuisine and chronically shitty weather.  Plus, you’ve got to have plenty of choices in brew to prepare for the ManU v Arsenal futbol matches.

I was drawn to this particular brewery because of my previously mentioned penchant for the occult, and all things spooky.  Plus, I’m willing to drink just about anything, and as of late, equally willing to write about it.  The only logical next step is to subject the public to all of this…right?

I was able to score four different bottles of Wychwood brews from the local bottleshop while we were living on the West Coast, so of course I purchased one of each.  I mean, what else is a boy to do?

Scarecrow Ale

An English style Pale Ale, the beer is a golden color, with a tinge of copper and a minimal head that clung to the glass around the edges.  The beer has a sour, malty smell to it, missing out on some of the spice and hops aromas that come with most Pales.  It has a strong, sour taste for a Pale, with the typical malt flavor profile.  Only the slightest hint of dry hopping at the end of the palate, more pepper in character than anything else.  The sourness trails through to the finish and the aftertaste, along with a bittersweet flavor at the tip of the tongue.  This was one of my first English Pales, and there are some distinct differences between that and the US versions.  I wasn’t all that crazy about it, not fully digging the lack of hops and floral highlights.  I think at the time, I was so enamored with hop-heavy flavors from the US West Coast beer scene that it took quite a bit of objective focus to fully appreciate the brew.  I have since been trying more from this style to expand my palate, and at some point I plan to come back to review this beer again.

WychCraft

The brewery’s namesake in liquid form, this English Pale (again?) presents with a standard yellow-gold color, with bits of amber in the deeper recesses.  The beer poured with an airy, thick, foamy head that disappeared within less than a minute of pouring.  Very scant aromas of malt and citrus, but well blended, despite the light overall feel.  The beer tastes like a blend of a pale and a blonde, in a nutshell.  Heavy on the malt, with a stale tinge to the taste, the staleness persists in the finish, and the beer leaves a sour aftertaste in mouth.  Easy to drink, but there are better things out there to enjoy.  This one I am not as excited to give a second go-around, but I still might…

Fiddler’s Elbow

Alright, strap in kids…another English Pale.  If I hadn’t done some research on the brewery, I would have thought this was all they made at this point.  Poured into a mug, the beer pours with little to no head, and presents as a muddled copper-gold color.  The beer has aromas of caramel malt, and the lightest hints of hops, which is a nice change from the previous two brews.  The tastes are muddled, but there is a spicy undertone to it that is very intriguing.  Unfortunately, there aren’t the main flavors to back it up, and it ends up being a mostly bland bit of malt again.  The beer is light in mouth, leaving a bit of an unpleasant film behind.  Not the easiest beer to drink, that is for sure.  The tastes had me going, but the overall feel and the crash-landing at the end lost me.

Hobgoblin

Holy shit, it’s not a Pale!  This beer started off way ahead of the curve with me, if for nothing more than providing some diversity to my fridge.  Hobgoblin is an English Brown, and is a moderately translucent brown coloring, with no head.  Not really getting a lot of aroma off the beer itself; maybe a little malt and nut sweetness. The taste has your typical smooth, nutty sweetness, with a slight hops bitterness at the end.  Flavors of nut, caramel, and hops remain extremely well-balanced in the beer.  The beer is sharp and light in mouth, with a fairly easy, smooth finish.  The higher carbonation keeps this beer’s flavor profile light on the body, and true to the style.  Decent brew.

There are many more beers from this British brewery that I am looking forward to trying at some point in the future.  When that time comes, be sure that my thoughts will be spilled on this forum for all of you to be subjected to.  Until that time, I wish all my fellow beer lovers a wonderful October…it truly is a great month for the world of brews, with the Fall seasonals in full force, Oktoberfest winding out to a climactic finish, and the weather cooling off enough to start thinking about the heavy Stouts and Winter Warmers on the way.  Drink educated, my friends!

One Response to “Wychwood Brewery…some #beer from the UK, with a slight Halloween type theme…”

  1. […] Beer for the masses My wheat pennies worth on the beauty that is beer… « Wychwood Brewery…some #beer from the UK, with a slight Halloween type theme… […]

Leave a Reply

